Scotch Club + Pleat Box by Mashallah & Apparatu for Marset

Posted by on May 2, 2014 in Berlin, Objects

Paying hommage to the first discotheque in Europe, Berlin-based design studio Mashallah (Hande Akçayli and Murat Koçyigit)  and Apparatu (Catalan master ceramist Xavier Mañosa) teamed up for Marset to create a reduced version of the disco mirror ball …

Scotch Club lamps (blue) by Massalah & Apparatu for MarsetScotch Club lamps by Massalah & Apparatu for MarsetaScotch Club is a polygonal ceramic spotlight that, due to it’s 72 ground facets, can either be used as a ceiling or as a table lamp.

Below a video made by Marset showing Xavier Mañosa and Mashallah presenting their collection: 

Scotch Club lamp (terracotta) by Mashalla & Apparatu for Marset

Scotch Club lamp (white) by Mashalla & Apparatu for Marset

Available in white, blue, terracotta or black ceramic, with brilliant white or gold enamel interiors.

Scotch Club is already the second of Mashallah and Apparatu’s  collaborations called Superfax.

Pleat Box lamps (red) by Mashalla & Apparatu for MarsetPleat Box series by Mashalla & Apperatu for Marset

In 2009 they launched their first series of lighting devices called Pleat Box – a collection of four ceramic lamps simulating familiar textile silhouettes. The exterior of the lamps is made of different sorts of recycled enamel and comes in white ceramic, underglazed red or grey clay. The interior is available in white enamel with a light-enhancing glitter effect or in gold – creating an extremely warm light.

If you want to know more about how their project started and how the lamps are made, take a look at this video produced by Marset:

www.apparatu.com

www.mashallah.nu

Distributed by: www.marset.com

Photos and videos via Mashalla, Apparatu & Marset

Leave a Reply

Scotch Club + Pleat Box von Mashallah & Apparatu für Marset

Posted by on Mai 2, 2014 in Berlin, Objekte

Als Hommage an Europas erste Diskothek kreierte das in Berlin ansässige Designer Duo Mashallah (Hande Akçayli und Murat Koçyigit) zusammen mit Apparatu (dem katalanischen Keramikspezialisten Xavier Mañosa) für Marset eine minimalistische Version der berühmten Diskokugel…

Scotch Club lamps (blue) by Massalah & Apparatu for MarsetScotch Club lamps by Massalah & Apparatu for MarsetaScotch Club ist ein polygonaler keramischer Strahler, der dank seiner 72 Flächenanschliffe sowohl als Decken- als auch als Tischlampe eingesetzt werden kann. 

Auf diesem Video von Marset stellen Xavier Mañosa und Mashallah ihre Kollektion vor:

Scotch Club lamp (terracotta) by Mashalla & Apparatu for Marset

Scotch Club lamp (white) by Mashalla & Apparatu for Marset

Erhältlich in weisser, blauer, terracottafarbener oder schwarzer Keramik mit brilliant-weissem oder gold glasiertem Innenleben.

Scotch Club ist bereits die zweite Kollaboration zwischen Mashallah und Apparatu unter dem Namen Superfax:

Pleat Box lamps (red) by Mashalla & Apparatu for MarsetPleat Box series by Mashalla & Apperatu for Marset

2009 brachten sie ihre erste Leuchten-Serie Pleat Box auf den Markt – ein Set bestehend aus vier verschiedenen Lampen, die in ihrer jeweiligen Form die Illusion vertrauter textiler Silhouetten erschaffen.  Die Aussenhülle ist in weisser Keramik, unterglasiertem Rot, grauem Ton und mit unterschiedlichen recycelten Lasuren erhältlich. Von innen sind die Lampen entweder weiss, samt licht-verstärkendem Glittereffekt, oder goldfarben lackiert, was eine besonders warme Lichtgestaltung ermöglicht.

Um mehr Informationen zur Kollaboration der beiden Künstlerteams und den Enstehungsprozess ihrer Lampen zu teilen, hat Marset ein weiteres Video produziert:

www.apparatu.com

www.mashallah.nu

Vertrieb: www.marset.com

Fotos und Videos via Mashalla, Apparatu & Marset

Leave a Reply