Bowl Chair by Lina Bo Bardi | Arper edition

Posted by on May 7, 2014 in Furniture

A link between past and future was what Arper’s Luigi and Claudio Feltrin had in mind when taking the 1950’s sketches of publisher, curator, architect and designer Lina Bo Bardi and reviving one of her most iconic works:

Bardi's Bowl Chairs by Arper

Bardi’s Bowl Chair consists of a four-legged metal frame with a ring as base into which an upholstered seat is inserted.

Bardi's Bowl Chairs by Arper (top view)Bardi's Bowl Chairs by Arper (stacked)

As the bowl remains adjustable, any possible seating position can be achieved. Be it upright, reclined or even perpendicular to the floor  – Bo Bardi’s vision of  a flexible structure with an universal and essential form has finally come true. For the first time in fact industrially standardised, since the original fabrication process of the chair was entirely artisanal.

Bardi's Bowl Chair by Arper (attaching the foam)Bardi's Bowl Chair by Arper (in the making)

Arper managed to come up with a whole new productional approach whilst remaining faithful to the spirit of the prototype from 1951. Originally made from heavy hand-forged iron, the chair’s bowl is now produced in plastic to make it lighter and flexible enough to fit the foam and fabric to the frame.

Bardi's Bowl Chair by Arper (purple)Bardi's Bowl Chair by Arper (yellow)

The edition contains a broad palette of different colours and finishes, reflecting on Lina Bo Bardi’s belief in adaptive open systems that are simple, sensual and alive.

www.arper.com

Photos via Arper

Leave a Reply

Bowl Chair von Lina Bo Bardi | Arper Edition

Posted by on Mai 7, 2014 in Möbel

Ein Bindeglied zwischen Vergangenheit und Zukunft war es, was Luigi und Claudio Feltrin von Arper erschaffen wollten, als sie sich der 1950er Entwürfe von Herausgeberin, Kuratorin, Architektin und Designerin Lina Bo Bardi annahmen und ihren ikonischen Arbeiten neues Leben einhauchten:

Bardi's Bowl Chairs by Arper

Bardis Bowl Chair besteht aus einem durch einen Ring verbundenen, vierbeinigen Metalrahmen, in den ein gepolstertes halbrundes Sitzelement eingelassen werden kann.

Bardi's Bowl Chairs by Arper (top view)Bardi's Bowl Chairs by Arper (stacked)

Das schalenförmige Möbel lässt sich nach Belieben ausrichten, so dass praktisch jede Sitzposition möglich ist. Ob aufrecht, zurückgelehnt oder waagerecht – der Bowl Chair setzt Bo Bardis Vision einer flexibelen Struktur von universeller und essentieller Form in jeglicher Hinsicht um. Und das zum ersten Mal in industriell-standardisierter Herstellung, nachdem die Originale noch von Hand gefertigt wurden. 

Bardi's Bowl Chair by Arper (attaching the foam)Bardi's Bowl Chair by Arper (in the making)

Arper gelang es, eine komplett neue Produktionsweise  zu erfinden und gleichzeitig dem Geist des Prototyps von 1951 treu zu bleiben. Im Original aus schwerem, hand-geschmiedetem Eisen, wird die Stuhlschale heute aus bedeutend  leichterem Plastik hergestellt, um Füllschaum und Stoff einfacher der Grundform anpassen zu können.

Bardi's Bowl Chair by Arper (purple)Bardi's Bowl Chair by Arper (yellow)

Die Edition umfasst eine breite Palette unterschiedlicher Farben und Ausfertigungen, die alle Bo Bardis Glauben an ein anpassungsfähiges, offenes System, das einfach, sinnlich und lebendig sein soll, widerspiegeln.

www.arper.com

Fotos via Arper

Leave a Reply